The touristy town of Tamarindo

This weekend was spent in the beach town of Tamarindo. Most well-known for its beautiful sunsets, Tamarindo is in the Guanacaste  province on the Pacific side of Costa Rica. The one night I could have watched the sun set was spent eating dinner instead -_- Bad planning on our part… that’s okay though, I’m sure I will have the opportunity to see plenty more beautiful sunsets while I am here.

Friday night we got to Tamarindo around 7 and had dinner at a really good sushi place. I ordered one of the drinks that was a special, and of course- just my luck, it had siracha in it and was absolutely disgusting. Dare to be different, they said…

After dinner we got ready to go out and ended up going to “Monkey Bar,” where a lot of the study abroad students were. It was a super nice rooftop bar with the option to go Salsa on the tico dance floor, or dance like an American (gross) on the other side.

Tamarindo is definitely a tourist town, so we saw way more gringas than any of us see in a typical week. A lot of the servers and workers also spoke English well because I’m guessing they have picked up on it due to the surplus of vacationers that come through the town. Vendors were walking down the beach all day trying to sell everyone random knick knacks including anything from coconut water to tiny, wooden birds whistles that made the most awful sound.

Saturday was spent on the beach, roasting in the sun. Of course I had to come out with a sunburn because my skin is just not used to how strong this sun is quite yet. Some of my friends spent the day surfing, but I decided to hang back and relax on the beach this trip. Next time (: The beach was absolutely beautiful, definitely a rockier beach which added that extra natural beauty. We headed back to our little bungalow hotel and eventually went to dinner at an Italian restaurant where I had really good pasta.

Side story… when we checked into our hotel Friday night, Luis saw our bungalows as the hotel manager walked us to our rooms (they do that in Costa Rica because it’s polite). Anyways, Luis sees our little tiki hut and goes “Look! You get a Boong-a-loo!” We all burst out laughing because he was trying to say bungalow in English and pronounced it as you see it above. Might be a ‘you had to be there’ moment, but I thought it was pretty funny.

Sunday morning was short, but we had breakfast and headed straight to the beach to get in as much sun as we could. We left Tamarindo around 12 p.m. and made it back to San Jose around 5, just in time for a nice dinner with Mama Tica. She ordered pizzas and I obviously ate my weight in food (I feel like crap right now).

Cozied up in my bed with another beautiful weekend in the books. Heading into week three… I have a feeling I am not going to like watching that number get closer to 12. Feeling incredibly blessed to be here, as always (thanks mom and dad).

Buenas noches

gpexportphoto-0044

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

